• Talleres & Webinars
  • Observatorio
  • Casos exitosos
  • ALC-UE
  • Documentos y publicaciones


What is COST Program? 

COST is a multilateral program involving  27 EU countries plus Iceland, Norway, Switzerland, Croatia, Macedonia, Turkey, Serbia and Israel. 

It is a program that funds i) Research Networks or ii) Strategic/Exploratory Workshops on a particular subject in order to share experiences and knowledge between researchers from Europe and third countries.

The program is open to the participation of third countries as "Non-cost countries." This means they can participate in all activities, but they are not entitled to  receive financial support from the program. 

What is a Reciprocal Cooperation Agreement? 

In 2009, the Ministry of Science, Technology and Productive Innovation through its National Directorate of International Relations, signed the First Mutual Cooperation Agreement in Latin America (and fourth in the world along with Australia, New Zealand and South Africa) 

This agreement allows the Argentine participants to access local funding for short-term scientific missions and reciprocally, European participants can perform such missions in Argentina. 

General Features: 

COST is divided into 9 broad subject areas called "domains" 

1. Biomedicine and Molecular Biosciences. 
2. Molecular and Chemical Sciences and Technologies. 
3. Earth Sciences and Environmental Management. 
4. Food and Agriculture. 
5. Forests and related products and services. 
6. Individuals, societies, cultures and health. 
7. Information and communication technologies 8. Materials, Physics and Nanosciences. 
9. Transport and urban development. 
Each of them is based on specific "actions" that last for 4 years each. Participants from third countries can join at any time once the action is opened.
For more information, please write to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it